June 2016

Minnesota hospital programs, leaders honored

ST. PAUL – The Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) on May 20 honored innovative programs and outstanding leaders in health care at its 32nd annual awards ceremony.
Seventeen awards were given for extraordinary achievement in categories ranging from advocacy on behalf of hospitals and volunteerism to innovation and improvement in patient care and patient safety.
“Each day, all across the state, Minnesota’s hospitals and health systems are working to strengthen the health of our communities,” said MHA President and CEO Lawrence Massa. “Our exceptional care teams set the bar high for patient care and for meeting the needs of their communities. Thanks to their expertise, diligence and commitment to excellence, Minnesota’s hospitals continue to be among the best in the nation.”

The awards and recipients are:
American Hospital Association Grassroots Champion: Dr. Steven Mulder, president and CEO, Hutchinson Health
Best Minnesota Hospital Workplace: Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare, Saint Paul; River’s Edge Hospital & Clinic, Saint Peter
Caregiver of the Year: Dr. Andrew Kopperud, Sanford Westbrook Medical Center
Community Benefit: Lake Region Healthcare, Fergus Falls; Cuyuna Regional Medical Center, Crosby
Good Catch for Patient Safety: Sherrie Eischens, RN, CHI St. Joseph’s Health, Park Rapids
Innovation of the Year in Patient Care: Regions Hospital, Saint Paul; New Ulm Medical Center
Patient Safety Improvement: Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare, Saint Paul; River’s Edge Hospital & Clinic, Saint Peter
Public Achievement: The Honorable Lucinda Jesson, former commissioner, Minnesota Department of Human Services
Spirit of Advocacy: Joy Plamann, section director of hospital medicine, CentraCare Health
Stephen Rogness Distinguished Service Award: John Fossum, CEO, Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital
Trustee of the Year: Ron Osladil, Essentia Health-Sandstone
Volunteer of the Year Award: Bob Nelson, St. Cloud Hospital, CentraCare Health
Associate Member of the Year: Witt/Kieffer
Please visit our website for descriptions of the 2016 award winners:
The Minnesota Hospital Association represents 137 hospitals and health systems, which provide quality care for their patients and meet the needs of their communities.